Appalachian Trail Memorandum of Understanding

Signing Event75th Anniversary logo

On June 4, 2012, many people concerned with the use, maintenance, and care of the Connecticut section of the Appalachian Trail met at the headquarters of Connecticut Forests and Parks Association to sign a Memorandum of Understanding. The document describes an agreement of responsibilities between the Appalachian Mountain Club, the Applachain Trail Conservancy, the National Park Service, and many CT State Agencies. Members from Connecticut's Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP), Department of Transportation, State Historic Preservation Office and State Police also signed the memorandum.

AMC President John Judge AMC President John Judge

Eric Hammerling, executive director of the CFPA, served as the emcee for remarks from many individuals. Speakers included Connecticut Senator Richard Blumenthal; Greg Miller, president of the American Hiking Society; Dan Esty, Connecticut DEEP Commissioner; Mark Wenger, executive director of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy; Dennis Reidenbach, National Park Service Regional Director; John Judge, president of the Appalachian Mountain Club; Kip Bergstrom, acting State Historic Preservation Officer, and Jon Brayshaw, Middlefield First Selectman.

Read the Memorandum of Understanding.

What it means

The document confirms and formalizes the roles and responsibilities played by each organization supporting the Appalachian Trail in Connecticut and replaces one signed more than ten years earlier. This allows each agency and organization to plan and manage their piece of the puzzle while knowing where the DEEP and state law enforcement fit in.

Read the press release from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy.

Signing Attendees Attendees at the signing ceremony